Life Goes Up and Life Goes Down

I finished therapy, you can read about it here. I was soo super happy when I finally finished, it was honestly the best feeling in the world. But, unfortunately this week has been a bit of a low week for me. And that is okay.

My therapist warned me that I will probably dip again after we finish because I won’t be constantly assessing my thoughts and doing the therapy ‘home work’ as it were. Basically, when going through CBT you have tasks to do and the deadline for those tasks would be the next session so you have to do it. Whereas now there is no deadline and not as much of an incentive to do it – obviously being happy should be a big enough incentive but it isn’t as easy as that. I’ve just come back from an amazing holiday in Berlin so I am already going through a bit of the post-holiday blues which has probably not helped matters either.

What you and I have to remember is that life is not always happy, we need some sadness. Obviously, not to the level of depression but no ones life is perfect and no one is constantly happy. If they were they would be a bit weird and not live their life to the full! Just watch ‘Inside out’ to realise the importance of sadness and emotions other than happiness.

Life is a roller coaster ride, there will be ups and downs, unexpected turns, fear, excitement and sometimes you may feel as if your whole life has turned completely upside down. But that is okay, it will get better I assure you. So whether you are struggling during therapy, every day is different; good or bad but that is all part of the process. We would not appreciate the good without the bad. The same goes for anyone going through life, anything can make you feel sad and that is okay.

I read a book by Sophie Kinsella called ‘Finding Audrey’ and it illustrates that the ups and downs of life can be viewed easily on a graph;

Finding Audrey graph.png

There will be ups and downs but you are slowly making an inclination.

“I think what I’ve realized is, life is all about climbing up, slipping down, and picking yourself up again. And it doesn’t matter if you slip down. As long as you’re kind of heading more or less upwards. That’s all you can hope for. More or less upwards.” Sophie Kinsella

This relates to everything in your life. Whether it is your job, relationships or anything! It is healthy to have dips and highs because without the low points you wouldn’t notice or appreciate the good areas as much.

Life would be boring to be constant and consistent. The twists and turns are the things that make it interesting. So when you are going through a rough patch just remember that it is okay and everyone feels the same!

Leave a Reply

