Why You Should Read Teenage Fiction

When I was a teenager I only read adult fiction. I completely skipped from children’s books to adult books without giving teenage fiction the time of day. So, I can honestly say I had never read a teenage fiction book, apart from the odd Jacqueline Wilson when I was about 6 (perhaps a bit too young for her, looking back).

I always had the assumption that they were all about young girls having a crush on young boys, proms, school, etc, etc. Obviously when I got home from school I did not want to read about school again! I think I wanted to be grown up so bad I did as the adults do and I remember being so shocked and excited when the characters had even a little kiss! How promiscuous! I became addicted to this forbidden and unknown world and read book after book.

However, now I am bored of this adult world and want to go back. Typical that you always want what you can’t have! So, since my depression I have tried reading lighter, easier and all-round happier books, this obviously led me into the teenage fiction world – and I love it!

Sure, a lot of the books are focused on boys, proms and school but it is so nice to go back into that innocent and easy world. A place where there is no work, bills or being an adult. Of course, there is also books like the hunger games which aren’t as cheesy but to be honest, I love the cheese! I would definitely recommend trying one out at least. If you don’t like it then fair enough but I do think you will enjoy getting swept away with their lovely, easy little lives.

I have also been pleasantly surprised by the characters and stories, although most have the same theme they are told very differently. The characters are not all just boy-crazy air heads, they are a lot of complex, deep characters and underlying tones or adult themes within several of the ones I have read – things you would not notice if you read it whilst young.

The reasons I now love teenage Fiction:

  1. They are a nice distraction when you are feeling low, going through a hard time or just need to de-stress.
  2. They are easy to read, you do not have to wait for several pages to get really stuck in. It is pretty much instantly that you are swept back up into it.
  3. The stories are very uplifting and often funny – because their problems are ridiculous.
  4.  And because their problems are ridiculous you realise that perhaps your problems aren’t such a big deal either and can be overcome, like all the problems are overcome in the books.
  5. You can view it from an adult perspective and pick up on the themes easier.
  6. There are happy endings. I used to hate happy endings and think they were so boring, I wanted someone to die or be left alone or something. But now, once you have read a happy ending you do feel really pleased and kind of relieved that all the characters will continue in happiness once you have stopped reading and bringing them to life. It makes me feel a lot better once I have finished the book.

 

The only bad points are:

  1. They are often predictable, but there are some that shock you!
  2. They are simple and not very intellectually challenging, depending on what you read.
  3. The covers are normally very bright and pretty embarrassing to read in public – but who cares?

 

I would just like to say that if you are suffering with a mental health problem, avoid the teenage fiction that has a sad undertone or a sad ending. I do not know every single one of these so try reading a non spoiling review first. The ones to avoid that I know about are ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ and ‘The Fault in Our Stars’. Read ones that seem very easy, simple and happy. I will do a separate post of good teenage fiction to read when I have read some more.

Let me know if you have any teenage fiction recommendations that you loved!

 

Leave a Reply

