Holiday Books

The five books I read on holiday ranged from brilliant to not so great. Some made me feel amazing and others made me dip quite low – definitely avoid those books if you are suffering like myself! I’ve made a list of each to tell you about them all and if you would like to give them a try – go ahead or let me know if you have any differing opinions on any you have read before.

  • I started off the holiday halfway through ‘The Rosie Effect’ by Graeme Simsion :

DSCN0890.JPG

This is the second book in the Don Tillman series following ‘The Rosie Project’ (which my mum is currently reading).

I love the main characters Don and Rosie because they are such lovely individuals. Don is a very straight thinking individual with his nice little routines such as the ‘Standardised Meal System’ (the same meal on certain weekdays so he knows what ingredients to buy and when) and Rosie is the complete opposite. Rosie is a strong, disorganized, feminist woman, she is great! The Rosie Project was heart warming and lovely but The Rosie Effect made me nervous for the characters at several points, I just wanted everyone to be happy and perfect like in the first book all the way through.

Although this was a nice, easy read I personally think Rosie and Don should have been left alone to live out their happy, fictional lives after the first book. I would recommend The Rosie Project more so than this one.

Rating: 6/10

Favorite Character: Definitely Rosie!

  • Next I read ‘The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared’ by Jonas Jonasson :

 

DSCN0889.JPGOut of all the books I read on holiday, this one took me the longest. Probably because I found it the most boring out of the five.

The story was different and had funny elements, I enjoyed some areas of the book, however most of the time it was too political for me. I read a book to escape these things but this book explained the different characters political views for a bit too long. You do not need two pages to describe a minor characters views. I found myself skipping paragraphs to get through those parts.

On top of this, I did not relate to any of the characters therefore, I do not feel emotionally connected to the story in any way. For me, that is not a good thing. I like to feel involved and love or hate different characters. This book may be interesting to some, if you enjoy war, politics and an old man who talks a bit too much then this is the book for you.

The ending also felt wrong, I did not like how it ended up.

To be fair, I am trying to find light-hearted stories to ensure I stay happy as some books really do affect me quite badly. I may have enjoyed this book if I had been in a different state of mind.

Rating: 4/10 (The 4 is because it is well written and the author has a lot of commendable knowledge).

Favorite Character: Sonya the elephant.

  • After that heavy book I decided to read something easier and light hearted. So I picked up one from the charity shop called, ‘The Academy; game on’ by Monica Seles :

dscn0887I bought this book simply because it had a very bright fluorescent pink cover – that must be nice and easy reading surely? Little did I know it was written by a world famous tennis star who had started a new career in fiction! I feel a bit ashamed I did not know this but she is a fantastic writer!

This book was cheesy and I loved it. As a teenager I read adult fiction rather than teenage fiction and now I realise what I missed out on.

This book had so many twists and turns. You think you can trust a character one minute, then the next they stab you in the back, then all of a sudden it was wrong and they’re great again. By the end of this book I did not know who to trust – it really took me on a journey with the brilliant plot twists.

The best thing about this book was that I did not have to urgently read on to a happier moment to ensure I wasn’t effected. I could put this down at any point and feel pretty happy. By the end I wanted to carry on reading! I bought the second book ‘The Academy: Love Match’ as soon as I got home from the holiday. It is on its way now!

I know that someone may be put off by this book because it looks cheesy and too ‘girly’ but my boyfriend (who visited for the weekend) even enjoyed it when I forced him to read it to me. He text asking to know the ending! So anyone can read it. 😉

Give it a try it can really help uplift your spirits if you’re feeling low.

Rating: 10/10 for relief from low moods and the story twists.

Favorite character: Cleo or Renee.

  • After the last really good read I went back to the charity shop to find another teenage fiction (I worry that I am now addicted to teenage fiction) and I found, ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ by Stephen Chbosky:

 

DSCN0886.JPGThe cover was not a good start as I am not overly keen on Emma Watson, I think it’s her posh voice – not her fault! I have not yet seen the movie of this story, I will probably watch it just out of interest to see how it compares to the book.

I did not enjoy this book. It was well written in a series of letters (which incidentally I had done myself in a short story before – he beat me to it!) but it was just too sad.

The story is not sad in a conventional way but it felt really saddening. If I put the book down I felt a heavy sadness and I could feel myself slipping into a dark place, not good! So I rushed through this book and finished it in one day. It is such a shame because I think I would have enjoyed the story but the tone was too low for me at the minute.

There was one poem in particular that affected me. It is a beautiful little poem but so so sad. After I read it I just sat for a few moments to take it in because wow, it hit me hard. I would not advise reading it if you are not well, the poem or the book but if you feel okay or can detach yourself from a book it is worth checking out. Hopefully the film will be more uplifting as the ending was fairly nice.

Rating: 5/10 Simply because I do not know how to feel about this book.

Favorite Character: The main character Charlie. He is so sweet and I feel sorry for him.

  • After this I chose a book with a happy sounding title to bring me back up for the last few days of my holiday. ‘A year of Marvellous Ways’ by Sarah Winman:

DSCN0884

I am only halfway through this book so I cannot review it fully yet. So far it is pretty warming and cute. There was one worryingly sad bit but luckily the story skipped past it fairly fast.

I haven’t read a book like this one as I do not usually read books that are set in the past, I simply have no interest in them. But it is surprisingly modern sounding, lots of shocks and swearing.

This book is nice because you can imagine the setting; a lake with a caravan and a boathouse on the edge with nothing else around for miles. It sounds so serene and calming and can have a nice effect on me.

Book Rating so far: 7/10

Favorite Character: Missy, although she was not in it for long I relate to her most.

My favorite book of this holiday was definitely The Academy by Monica Seles and I would recommend it as a feel-good book. Definitely avoid The Perks of Being a wallflower if you’re struggling at the minute. Let me know if you agree or disagree. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Holiday Books

  1. I deliberately avoided The Rosie Effect as I thought it would taint my enjoyment of the first book!
    I’ve also read quite a mixed bag this summer – let’s hope autumn’s reads are more promising!

    Like

Leave a Reply

